7 Chakras

What is chakra? 7 chakras and what they mean?

7 chakras are energy centers through which the life energy, life vital force (prana) enters the human body. The movement of prana goes bottom-up from chakra to chakra, it passes each of them. Then, prana gradually spreads through the mental channels (nadis) to all organs and systems. This allows a person to live, engage in various activities, be aware of the world around him and himself in this world.

What are chakras for?

Chakras location is in the astral body, so their visual perception is inaccessible to most people. However, these centers have an impact on our thinking and body condition. Chakras absorb vibrations of different frequencies, the lower chakra is — the lower vibrations it absorbs and radiates, and consequently, the more earthly and material values ​​govern the person’s life.

Traditionally, there are 7 chakras which govern certain aspects of our life – survival, desires, relationships, etc. The better a person is developed spiritually, the more harmonious his chakras are. He becomes able to feel higher and finer vibrations, which consequently improves all his abilities at the physical and mental levels (for example, leadership, intuition).

The level of spirituality directly relates to the development of consciousness, that is, to the mental state. At the mental level, the chakras are centers of concentration of consciousness. With the accumulation of energy in a particular chakra, a person has the corresponding thinking. It leads to the development of the astral body, and understanding of the true spiritual nature.

Why balanced chakras are important?

All the chakras of harmonious people are open, and the energy flows freely through them. In contrast, if a person is doing something wrong, or makes something that does not correspond to his desires, it eventually leads to the chakras blockage. The last ones impact the flow of prana.

If the lower chakras are blocked, prana does not enter the body sufficiently. As a result, a person becomes sluggish, he lacks will to move toward his goals, he feels weary and rarely feels joy. People with blocked upper chakras have a low level of spiritual development. They live predominantly with material values ​​and instincts, they do not want to follow their destiny and reveal their spiritual potential.

That is, the more harmonious chakras are – the more consciously a person lives and the more successful he is in all aspects of life – material, mental and spiritual.

Various cleansing and development practices, as well as meditations help to purify the mind from mental debris and blocks which impede the flow of prana, and it helps to open chakras. That’s why it is very important to learn to concentrate on what is happening, to live in the present and to feel your body.

Short overview of all 7 chakras

Muladhara (root chakra)

The first chakra is Muladhara. The location of this chakra is in the base of the spine. This chakra controls the excretory, reproductive, bone systems, as well as the legs and the large intestine. It is responsible for the manifestation of consciousness on the physical level, and for survival instincts.

Svadhisthana (sacral chakra)

The second chakra is Svadhistana. Its location is in the genital area, and it is responsible for childbearing and sexuality. Chakra is the center of emotions, pleasure, and sexual desire. Signs of Svadhisthana blockage are strong uncontrolled desires, and lust.

Manipura (solar plexus chakra)

The third chakra is Manipura. This chakra is located at the level of solar plexus. It is considered to be the center of vital force and energy. So, the signs of well developed chakra are sensing one’s power, being responsible for oneself and others, being confident, being willing to reach goals, leadership. Very often big bosses, powerful, high-level people have developed manipura. If chakra is blocked, a person feels social insecurity, weakness.

Anahata (heart chakra)

The fourth chakra is Anahata. This chakra is located in the region of the heart. It is responsible for love and feelings. At the same time, it may be love not only for some particular person, but also love for God, the planet, the Cosmos. If there is a blockage of anahata, it leads to the shame for the past, feeling guilt, depression, etc. 

Vishuddha (throat chakra)

The fifth chakra Vishuddha is located in the throat area. This chakra governs sociability, speech, as well as smell, creative activity and self-realization. Through this chakra, we control communication and express ourselves. This chakra is a kind of center of creative insight, ecstasy, talent and prophetic visions.

Signs of blocked vishuddha are conservatism, lack of flexibility, and even lack of talent (in speech, mind, behavior, etc.).

Ajna (third eye chakra)

The sixth Ajna chakra is located in the center of the forehead, between the eyebrows. The chakra governs mental abilities, as well as the ability to evoke visual images, memory, knowledge and willpower. Blockage of ajna appears as a narrow mind, lack of knowledge, distortion of incoming information, dogmas. 

Sahasrara (crown chakra)

The location of the seventh chakra Sahasrara is on the crown of the head. It is responsible for spirituality, harmony, insight, contemplation, peace and union with the Spirit. People whose sahasrara is not opened categorically do not recognize God (no matter in what guise), and, therefore, they deny spirituality.