Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Heart chakra is the fourth chakra, which is associated with the element of Air. It represents the center of balance. It is also called Anahata which means “unhurt, unstruck, and unbeaten.”

Image and color of anahata chakra

The color of the fourth chakra is green.

The image is a circle with 12 green petals. Each petal has the letter of Sanskrit, which symbolizes the negative quality inherent in the chakra:

  • fraud;
  • lustfulness;
  • repentance;
  • laziness;
  • longing;
  • indifference;
  • incompetence;
  • discrimination;
  • arrogance;
  • defiance;
  • false hope;
  • indecision.

Inside the circle there is a hexagram (six-pointed star), consisting of two intersected triangles:

The first triangle with apex down is associated with the energy of the earth and represents the lower nature and passions of human. It is also associated with the female principle, water, and the moon.

The second triangle is facing upward. It represents spiritual energy and symbolizes the highest nature of human. It is also associated with the male principle, the sun, and fire.

Anahata location and its meaning

Anahata chakra is located in the center of the chest, close to the heart.

The fourth chakra represents higher love – divine, beautiful, unconditional, which does not cause pain, does not cause suffering, does not manipulate and does not subordinate. It is based on full acceptance and mercy.

So what is the anahata chakra responsible for? In the first place – for the unconditional love expression, and for:

  • compassion and sensitivity of human nature;
  • inner choice of a person;
  • unity of spirit and mind;
  • harmony of body and soul;
  • inner wisdom;
  • healing abilities and intuition.

With the help of the heart chakra, a person is able to perceive the beauty of the world, nature, art, poetry. Only by using the anahata chakra, we can fully express all our love to another human being.

How healthy heart chakra works

The flower, a delightful lotus of twelve petals, symbolizes the beautiful anahata. Each of the petals reflects the spiritual quality that is inherent in a well-developed and fully opened anahata chakra. These are:

  • the joy of being;
  • full acceptance of ourselves and the world around;
  • harmony with the world and ourselves;
  • the purity of the soul;
  • unconditional, supreme love;
  • understanding of events – why and for what purpose certain events take place in our life;
  • immense kindness of the human soul;
  • true compassion, not pity, but compassion;
  • comprehensive forgiveness;
  • patience;
  • remaining positive, no matter what.

Only a person who initially accepts and loves himself can love other people.

Heart chakra imbalance

First of all, people with blocked heart chakra often feel anger, arrogance, indifference; they are selfish, irritable, envious, deceitful and evil.

The norm of life for such people is suffering. They cry and complain all the time about the injustice in their life, while they are ready to go over the heads of others to achieve their goals.

Signs of imbalance of the heart chakra:

  • incorrect perception of reality;
  • lack of joy;
  • sense of guilt and shame for the suffering of others;
  • sentimentality;
  • loneliness and constant depression;
  • dependence on love of another person;
  • hypersensitivity to someone’s grief;
  • self-sacrifice.

People with unhealthy heart chakra often have problems in love and relationships. They have either increased demands for love, express love with conditions (“I love you for one thing or another” or “I love you, and you must love me”), or excessive sacrifice, becoming addicted, depriving freedom of action, as well as the fear of losing love and being abandoned.

Self-flagellation, dissatisfaction, constant stress, capriciousness, desire to change other people without changing ourselves, imposing help on those who do not ask for it – these are only a few components demonstrating the heart chakra imbalance.

Misunderstanding, resentment, hatred, grief, and sadness can block the energy center of anahata, disrupting the circulation of energy throughout the human body, which leads to stagnation of energy at the level of the fourth chakra. It results in a constant feeling of anxiety and heartache in the chest.

Anahata and the physical body

The fourth chakra is directly connected to the human body through the heart. All heart diseases, heart failure and blood pressure imbalance suggest that the green chakra is blocked.

Also, fourth chakra is responsible for the following organs and systems of our body:

  • chest, lungs, and bronchia;
  • immune and circulatory systems;
  • upper part of the spine;
  • thymus gland;
  • hands and skin.

Hypertension and stenocardia may occur due to constant feeling of resentment and irritability. The state of grief and sadness, as well as despair and hopelessness can lead to pain in the chest.

If a person is unable to love himself fully, he may have problems with the respiratory system. After all, our breathing is the ability to fully experience life and accept it as it is, with all its advantages and disadvantages.

One of the features of anahata chakra disharmony is asthma, which can arise from the suppression of such a beautiful feeling as love. However, if a child has asthma, then it means that the parents suppress the child with their love, not allowing him to breathe on his own.